2019 Scott Wright Student Essay Contest – Winners

Student Essay Contest

NISOD is proud to announce the winners of the 2019 Student Essay Contest! The winning students, as well as the featured faculty, receive $1,000 and a complimentary registration to NISOD’s 2019 International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence in Austin, Texas, May 25-28, among other prizes. Additionally, each winning student author’s college will receive a complimentary 2019-2020 membership.

The annual Scott Wright Student Essay Contest is in honor of Scott Wright (July 27, 1964 ­- June 08, 2003), past editor of Community College Week and winner of the 1998 Award of Excellence in Higher Education Journalism. Wright’s reporting focused national attention on developmental education and the unique open access mission of community colleges. 

Congratulations to our student winners and their faculty honorees! 

Ozarks Technical Community College

Read the winning essay
by Samantha

Samantha Adams photo

Samantha Adams

John Landon photo

John Landon
Office – Safety and Security

Dr. Hal Higdon photo

Dr. Hal Higdon

Malcolm X College

Read the winning essay
by Leila

Leila Roumi photo

Leila Roumi

Dandcee Kittivanichkulkrai photo

Dandcee Kittivanichkulkrai
Radiography Professor

David Sanders photo

David Sanders

Southern Crescent Technical College

Read the winning essay
by Christine

Christine Thompson photo

Christine Thompson

James Anderson photo

James Anderson
Instructor, Emergency Medical Services

Dr. Alvetta Thomas photo

Dr. Alvetta Thomas