Webinar Series Banner

NISOD Webinars are offered at no cost to individuals at NISOD Member Colleges and $25.00 (credit card payment only) for individuals at non-member colleges. Complimentary webinars are noted as such under the webinar description. You can check the Member College page to see if your college is a NISOD Member.

Webinar Details
NISOD logo

Improving Curriculum to Facilitate Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

This webinar shares research on curriculum equity. The facilitator provides examples of how equity can be facilitated in the classroom by allowing students to choose their own research topics, studying Black authors and businesspeople, and by studying international authors and businesspeople based on the nationalities of the students in the class. A small panel of students speak as well and are available for questions on the day of the webinar.

Learning Outcomes: 

  1. Participants are inspired to improve their curriculum by incorporating current research on equity in the curriculum. 
  2. Participants garner ideas from activities the facilitator has done in her classroom to promote equity. 
  3. Participants hear students’ perspectives about what equity in the classroom should look like. 

Dr. Terri Stiles has a PhD in Education, a master’s degree in in Education, a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science, and a bachelor’s degree in Communications. She is certified in Pennsylvania to teach English and Social Studies in K-6 and K-8 classrooms. She also holds certifications in TESOL, diversity and equity, online learning, excellence in college teaching, and safe spaces for LGBTQ+ students. She has taught Reading courses at Montgomery County Community College for the past 14 years. For the past seven years she has taught Speech Communications, Rhetoric, and Business English courses at Penn State Abington. She teaches international and non-international students.

Thursday, August 19, 2021

Pacific: 11:00 am - 11:40 am
Mountain: 12:00 pm - 12:40 pm
Central: 1:00 pm - 1:40 pm
Eastern: 2:00 pm - 2:40 pm





Register for this Webinar
* = Required